HiPipo Music Awards Hall Of Fame Shortlist

Over the past decades, a lot of Ugandan music has been produced in
different forms, genres and styles. This has been made by thousands of artists and other contributors,
with each inspired or influenced by the previous music recordings.
Music’s highest honor, #HiPipoMusicAwards, will celebrate this wealth of musical richness of over
decades starting at the 6
th prestigious HiPipo Music Awards where we shall enshrine some classic
recordings in the Hall of Fame.
HiPipo Music Awards, has established the Hall of Fame to honor music of lasting quality that has made
contributions to Uganda’s socio-cultural heritage. The Hall of Fame will honor not just individuals, but the
recordings themselves. The Hall of Fame will grow annually by honoring music recordings of all genres
that are at least 15 years old. The Hall of Fame will embody the creative spirit and cultural significance of
the greatest recorded Uganda music of all time!
For the first year 2018, the songs entering the Hall of Fame will be announced and celebratory emblem
created for these songs. The songs will have been released by/before the year 2001. Over a 2-months
period, fans will share opinion for the songs they suggest to be commemorated and enshrined into the
Hall of Fame. The Music Assembly will also review and vote for the Hall of Fame’s recordings.
“The Hall of Fame recordings will be featured at the Arts Museum and we shall also agitate for these acts
to be specially featured in different music distribution channels not limited to digital channels, radio/tv,
airplanes operating Uganda routes and in country buses.” Innocent Kawooya, CEO HiPipo noted.
Recordings will continue to be reviewed annually by a music assembly comprised of eminent and
knowledgeable professionals from all branches of the performing arts. The initial batch of songs
shortlisted for the Hall of Fame of which some will be enshrine and commemorated in the Hall of Fame
1. Born in Africa – [Philly Lutaaya]
2. Bus Dunia – [Herman Basudde]
3. Ddole y’omwana – [Lord Fred Ssebatta]
4. Ebinyumu – [Elly Wamala]
5. Drums of Africa – [Jimmy Katumba]
6. Jim – Joanita Kawalya [Afrigo Band]
7. Ebisanyi – Kabuye Semboga
8. Kimuli kya Rose – [Fred Maiso]
9. Malibongwe – Limit X
10. Claire – Ronald Mayinja
11. Walumbe Zaaya – [Paul Job Kafeero]
12. Wipolo – [George Okudi]
To share opinion on which record and why it should enter the #HallofFame, provide comment on
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. Make a post using the hashtag format below
#HiPipoMusicAwards #HallofFame #SongName